Public funds should be spent on individuals who participate in international sports events rather than on local sports players.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is an undeniable fact that sport has been one of the most reasons bringing an honour to every country at international level. However, it has been debated that tax payers' money should be spent on international athletes rather than grassroots sport player.

There are a number of primary reasons for investing in international sport players. Firstly, when they partake in international sporting events with outstanding performance, they will promote the country image. Moreover, they bring the country to a height even win the recognition of friends around the world especially. In addition, they serve as role models for young generation. For example, Anh Vien is a swimming athlete, she has great merit in encouraging sporting movements as grassroots levels.

One of the main reasons why the national budget should be spent on local sporting events is that the main purpose of public fund is to benefic as many citizen as possible. The most effective way is invest in local sport. For instance, if the government funds a local swimming training program for children, it will bring benefits for both children and parents. Last but not least, such investments will help create an environment for people to show and develop their sport talent and they will have more opportunity to become an international sport player.

In conclusion, a funding balance should be stuck between the two ends of the spectrum.