Q : In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Recently, a rise in the length of time people live has become the subject of heated debate. There are several problems caused by this phenomenon, such as a decrease in the number of working adults, and various measures could be taken to alleviate this issue, including increasing the retirement age. In this essay, I will explain the problems caused by this undesirable trend, and present some solutions to the problem.

It seems difficult to deny that several related problems can be anticipated as people live longer and the populations of developed countries grow older. Perhaps the most pressing problem is that not only will there be more people of retirement age who will have the right to receive a pension, but the proportion of young working adults will also be smaller. This means that governments will have difficulty in earning a huge amount of public money in relation to the size of their populations. Another grave issue is that a heavy tax burden will be placed on young working adults in order to support the elderly considering that there will be a growth in demand for public services, including healthcare.

There are, however, several courses of action that the government could take to address the problems described above. The most practical solution could be for the government to extend the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. Nowadays, people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive working life, and this will contribute to a rise in the number of taxpayers. A second feasible solution would be for the government to introduce useful policies related to immigration. To be more specific, encouraging a multitude of foreigners of working age to emigrate makes it possible for the country to deal with the problem of lack of workforce.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from various causes suggested above and can be tackled with a variety of solutions. If the authorities make a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.