Q1: Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces into residential areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that substituting residential buildings in order to reduce time devoted to travelling to and from work for eco-friendly facilities, such as gardens and parks, close to the central area of the city should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly amenities near the city centre so as to build housing estates do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks makes it possible for working adults to take a rest that help them to unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for green places for working people, they would have difficulty alleviate the level of stress, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to supersede parks and gardens close to the city business district by a large number of skyscrapers accommodating numerous citizens. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a multitude of employees residing close to their workplaces travel to work by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion. This is partly because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease, which can contribute to a rise in the quality of citizens' lives. Moreover, depriving commuters of less time dedicated to travelling to work enables them to focus more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green areas close to the CBD and erecting a myriad of apartment blocks are necessary for the reasons discussed above.