Q11 Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings. Discuss both views and give your opinion. (

Recently, the conservation of animals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that governments as well as the public should not allow animals to disappear, while others argue otherwise. I wholeheartedly agree with the latter stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that both individuals and society should protect animals do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that preventing animals from becoming extinct plays an important role in keeping biodiversity that is invaluable. Furthermore, if it were not for saving endangered animals, the original form of the food chain and ecosystem would be broken because of the extinction of a myriad of species, which could have a negative impact on humans who are on the top of food chains. Given these points, some people hold the view that not only governments but also people should make a concerted effort in order to preserve animals.

My opinion, however, is that there are a number of important global issues which more emphasis should be placed on than conserving animals given that preserving them is not directly related to people's daily life. Perhaps the most pressing problem which takes precedence over the protection of animals is global warming because it poses a threat to people's well-being. To be more specific, a large number of citizens across the globe suffer from global warming which even leads to climate change that exerts a detrimental influence on the quality of life. Another grave issue is global hunger since it is directly related to the life of humans. As a brief illustration, an article released by the Seoul Times illustrates that approximately 18% of people in the world died due to poverty in 2015. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that devoting an astronomical amount of money to animal protection is undesirable for the reasons discussed above.