Q14 : Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of what factors can contribute to successful life has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that (devotion to work allows people to lead a better life rather than money and appearance, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that fortunes as well as appearance are directly related to having an improved standard of living do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that people from wealthy families are able to gain numerous opportunities not only to receive better education but also to operate their own businesses. Moreover, these people are able to invest vast sums of money in the stock market, which could even lead them to earn an astronomical amount of money. Furthermore, in modern society, there are a number of celebrities who benefit a great deal from their appearance. To be more specific, public figures, such as movie stars and fashion models, achieve fame owing to their appearance with the development of mass media.

My opinion, however, is that dedication to work plays a vital role in individuals' success. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that working adults spending huge amounts of time and energy on their work are more likely to become promoted to a higher position at their workplace with greater ease. As an illustration, although Kim Ki-Hun, from South Korea, who was born and raised in a poor area suffered from poverty in childhood, he became a vice president in Samsung with the help of his commitment to work. In addition, employees who are passionate about work often can develop invaluable skills and knowledge related to their occupations, exerting a positive influence on them building successful careers. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that dedication to work enables people to have a high quality of life for the reasons discussed above.