Q 14: Some people think that success in life comes from hard work and determination, while others think that there are more important factors such as money and appearance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, what factors contribute to successful life has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that devotion to work allows people to live a better life rather than money and appearance, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that fortunes and appearance are directly related to having an improved standard of living do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that people from wealthy families can gain opportunities not only to receive better education but also to operate their own business. Moreover, these people are able to invest vast sums of money in the stock market, which could lead them to earn an astronomical amount of money. Furthermore, in modern society, there are a number of celebrities who benefit a great deal from their appearance. To be more specific, influencers, including movie stars and fashion models, achieve fame and obtain wealth owing to their appearance with the development of mass media.

My opinion, however, is that dedication to work plays a vital role in individuals' success. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that employees spending huge amounts of time and energy on work are more likely to become promoted to a high position at their workplace. To exemplify, although Kim Ki-Hun, from South Korea, who was born and raised in a poor area suffered from poverty in his childhood, he became a vice president in Samsung with the help of his commitment to work. In addition, working adults passionate about work can develop invaluable skills and knowledge related to their occupations, exerting a positive influence on them building a successful career.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that work commitments make it possible for workers to have a high quality of life for the reasons discussed above.