Q2 : At the present time, most people do not seem to lead healthy lifestyles. What are the reasons and how can we solve these problems?

Recently, the issue of unhealthy lifestyles has become the subject of heated debate. There are several reasons for this phenomenon, such as unhealthy eating habits, and various measures to alleviate this issue, including launching a campaign. In this essay, I will explain the reasons for this undesirable trend, and present some solutions to the problem.

There do seem to be numerous causes underlying this phenomenon. Perhaps the most oft-cited cause is that the availability of fast food has increased a great deal. To be specific, international fast food chains are easily found in every major city, which often causes working adults who find it difficult to manage their time to consume such food which is high in fat, sugar, and salt. Another fundamental cause is that in a fiercely competitive society, people are often obliged to perform well and devote huge amounts of time and energy to ameliorating relevant skills for their jobs. This often causes them to become less engaged in physical activities, exerting a detrimental influence on their health.

There are, however, several courses of action that both the government and individuals could take to address the root cause of the problems. The most practical solution to this problem is a government-sponsored awareness campaign. An effective advertising campaign could warn of the dangers of lack of consumption of wholesome food and hopefully, raise awareness amongst the public. For example, the UK recently lobbied their citizens to eat five portions of fruit and vegetables per day and this resulted in a dramatic decrease in the obesity rate. A second feasible solution would be for the masses to take exercise on a regular basis, making it possible for them to have an improved quality of their physical and mental well-being.

In conclusion, the aforementioned problems have resulted from a variety of causes suggested above and can be tackled with a number of solutions. If every sector of our society makes a concerted effort, we can combat the problems.