Q9: With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched natural places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

Recently, the issue of resources has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to developing untouched spaces in order to secure raw materials, such as crude oil and gas, these are outweighed by the advantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that exploiting undeveloped land to acquire natural resources should be discouraged do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that devotion to gaining oil and gas poses a threat to the environment considering that being equipped with a multitude of facilities that make it possible for developers to find fossil fuels with greater ease is needed. Furthermore, developing natural areas without taking into account environmental degradation accelerates the speed of global warming, which can even give rise to climate change.

My opinion, however, is that mankind should make use of natural land so as to obtain natural resources. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that fossil fuels, derived from nature, helping individuals to have an improved standard of living are economical given that generating renewable energy, including tidal power and solar power, costs a fortune. In addition, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for making an effort to produce fossil fuels, human beings would be more likely to suffer from a lack of resources preventing them from facilitating various aspects of their daily life, from driving personal vehicles to operating businesses. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of developing untouched areas to create natural resources surpass the drawbacks for the reasons discussed above.