Q2 : Some people believe famous people’s support towards international aid organizations draws attention to problems. Others think celebrities make the problems less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the impact of celebrities' assistance, such as donations, on individual people has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that influencers can contribute to an increase in the level of attention to social problems by supporting charities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that renowned people helping socially disadvantaged people detrimentally affect individuals do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that some entertainers exploit charitable activities in an undesirable way, causing ordinary people to become less interested in social issues. As an illustration, Kim Ki-Hun who is a singer in South Korea patronised a charitable foundation, and as a result, he achieved fame. However, according to an article released by the Seoul Times, it turned out that the main reason for this donation was receiving tax waivers. Given these points, some people hold the view that well-known people can worsen the essence of aid.

My opinion, however, is that celebrities' help towards charitable institutions exerts a beneficial influence on everyday people. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that not only can public figures inform the masses of the importance of charitable work, but they are also able to raise awareness amongst the public considering that they are often exposed to media. Furthermore, a multitude of fans of celebrities have a predisposition to participate in financial support when their idols partake in it. To exemplify, Lionel Messi spent approximately 3 million US dollars on a charitable organisation in South Africa in order to alleviate global hunger in 2015, leading a myriad of his keen supporters across the globe to pay attention to poverty, which made it possible for them to donate 5 million US dollars. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that famous people's assistance brings with it positives for the reasons discussed above.