Question 4: Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?Question 4: Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals, and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The importance of the protection of wildlife has always been a topic of controversy. While some people convince that wild animals’ conservation is a waste of money and time, I totally disagree with this opinion and believe that it is beneficial to maintain a healthy wildlife population.

It is acknowledged that the extinction of wildlife animals is a burning issue. Due to the rapid overpopulation in recent years, natural resources are being consumed faster to serve human needs. Consequently, the habitats and food sources of various types of animals all over the world are endangered, leading to the aggravating extinction of numerous animal groups. If the ignorance towards this problem continues, it will result in the loss of every single animal species and since the ecosystem loses its balance, every aspect of life will be affected such as income, livelihoods, local migration, or political situations. For that reason, the state budget oughts to be allocated to protect biodiversity and our ecosystem.

Moreover, I deem that protecting fauna brings substantial benefits to our development. Firstly, wildlife conservation promotes agricultural biodiversity, which has a greater part to play in building a secure, robust, and thriving food system. For example, the locusts' invasion that swept over farms in rural Kenya left farmers only counting crop losses and similar problems can not be solved if their natural predators are extinct. Secondly, increasing healthy ecosystems through conservation improves agricultural productivity thereby stimulating rural livelihoods. Furthermore, diverse ecosystems which are home to unique species can become local tourist attractions, which helps the local economy becomes more profitable and invites a new fusion of investment.

In conclusion, I would argue that wildlife conservation is a worthy cause for the benefits that such scheme can bring about.