Question: Some people believe that living in big cities is becoming more difficult while others believe that it is getting easier.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some people that life in big cities seems tougher whereas others think the opposite. While acknowledge the benefits of living in such places, I personally agree with those who are convinced that it is causing more difficulties for citizens.

On the one hand, there are several obvious reasons why some people think living in big cities is easier and more pleasant. There are greater job opportunities or career prospects in urban areas, which attracts a large number of immigrants. For instance, since most big companies and factories which offer good incomes are often found in cities, graduates will have more chances there to find jobs suited to their qualifications. Another important factor is the variety of places to go for entertainment like cinemas, shopping malls or amusement parks in large urban areas. It means that city residents have more places to visit and enjoy during their free time.

On the other hand, I would argue that some aspects of urban life are making it harder for city dwellers. First, since the population density in big cities is high, there are more private vehicles like cars or motorbikes on the roads. Consequently, there is an increase in the level of exhaust fumes and traffic congestion, which leads to a deterioration in air quality and that damages people's health. Second, the cost of living in these areas including rent, rental fee, household expenses and taxes is constantly rising. As a result, those from impoverished families or students fail to make ends meet and have to live in squalor.

In conclusion, despite some advantages of living in big cities, I strongly believe that it is getting more difficult and stressful for the residents.