Q: The news media have too much influence on people's lives today and this is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that these days news media such as televisions, computers or smartphones has exerted enormous effects on human society. Despite the positive side of it, I personally agree with those who believe this is a largely negative trend.

The major benefit of the growth in the influence of news media is the transmission of information. Thanks to the advances in technology, news has been delivered or broadcast all over the world at ease. In fact, there are a multitude of local and national 24-hour news channels or websites offering wide news coverage from weather, sports events to politics. This implies that people can effortlessly access up-to-the-minute news, which helps them keep abreast of current affairs. This, therefore, is advantageous for those who want to get updated to daily events.

However, this advantage is outweighed by the negative aspects. First, since some journalists want to grab the headlines, they can publish shocking but inaccurate news. For instance, during coronavirus outbreak, there were a huge amount of fake news about this pandemic like the wrong number of positive cases or deaths. Consequently, this misleading information can cause confusion and worry among society. Second, it is apparent that with cameras almost everywhere, people have to suffer from invasion of privacy. This means that they bear the risk of leaking their personal or confidential images, which poses a threat to their lives.

In conclusion, the influences of news media on the daily lives of people prove overwhelmingly negative despite some obvious benefits.