Question: Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think that it is essential to learn.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Essay:

It is believed by some people that it is of no importance to learn history while others think studying this subject is beneficial. Although I acknowledge both viewpoints, I personally agree with those who think it is necessary to this subject.

On the one hand, some think that obtaining knowledge of past events is just time-wasting. Since most people learn history by memorizing dates, names and facts, it is of no practical use for their everyday lives and future. For example, in some countries in Asia, students have to learn by heart all the information in their history textbooks to sit the annual exams. This means that these students fail to fully understand the subject through rote learning, which is time-consuming but offers them no obvious benefits. This, therefore, becomes a waste of time for learners as they will soon forget what they studied.

On the other hand, I would argue that having profound understanding of history brings several advantages. First, by learning this, people stand a good chance of understanding their own origins and culture, which, as a result, helps them feel a sense of belonging and appreciate what they are enjoying now. For instance, through the Vietnam war, people there learnt to respect their ancestors as well as keep their precious customs and tradition. Second, since history reflects what happened in the past, people have the opportunity to draw lessons from this subject. In fact, history is full of faults, which turns out invaluable lessons for future generations to avoid similar adverse outcomes.

In conclusion, from my perspective, history plays an important role in human society, so people should pay attention to it.