The range of technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you agree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowldege or experience.

The application of new technologies is one of the most important ways of making millionaires such as Bill Gates. However, discussion now centers on whether the technology has also widened the gap between the rich and the poor. My view is that the improper distribution of social wealth, rather than an influx of modern technology, has caused such a social problem.

Firstly, it is obvious that the responsibility falls on the government as the one most capable and likely to solve any social issue and ensure social equality. In order to bridge this wealth gap, the most effective and direct method should be taxation leverage, by which the government can use the rich people’s tax money to subsidise the less fortuante. So, the technology should not become a scapegoat of this issue.

Conversely, modern technologies indeed have provided great opportunities for the impoverished to go from rags to riches. For example, many people have become wealthy by setting up their own commercial websites on the Internet. Compared with tradictional companies that requre large initial inverstment and higher operation cost, the Internet is a cheaper and more accessible platform for ordinary people to make a fortune.

Those who harbour the view that technology has polarised the distribution of welth around the world believe that poor countries are getting poorer due to the lack of creative technologies. Of course, this is a real phenomenon. But paradoxically, the right solution for those nations is just to introduce advanced technologies to imporve social productivity, which is like the age-old chicken-or-egg question.

In summary, modern technology plays a key role in filling the gap between the rich and poor not only for individuals, but for nations as well. In the era of knowledge-based economy, one who is diligent and can capitalise on this knowledge will eventually prevail.