Some people think rich countries should help the poor countries by giving money directly. Others believe that there are other more effective forms of international aid.

What’s your opinion?

Poverty is one of the most detrimental problems faced by many developing countries. However, which type of international aid is most effective for them is a controversial issue. In my view, what they need most is not financial aid or loans, but advanced technologies and talents in certain key areas.

It is obvious that modern technologies and scientific advancement are the driving force behind rich nations. Hi-tech products, innovations, and good management can greatly improve the productivity of a whole society, hence wealth is accumulated at high speed. Therefore, to help the poor, we had better give them tools that can make a fortune.

Moreover, developed countries can not only send teams of experts to poor nations to build roads, dams, factories and other infrastructure, but also train talents and experts for them. Rich countries can provide scholarships of financial help to students from poorer regions, which some famous western universities are actually doing. It is also a wiser way to deliver help.

This is not to say that rich countries should not provide aid in form of money in any case. Of course, money definitely can help a country out of many urgent problems. But we have to make sure that international funds are spent where people really need it rather than filling the pockets of local corrupt politicians.

In summary, there are some other types of aid rich countries may choose to offer more efficiently, for example, providing advanced technologies and talents that can facilitate economic growth sustainably. From this sense, giving money to poor regions is not a direct aid, but an indirect form.