Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Within the fast development pace of technological gadgets, individuals of all ages can find various choices of entertainment, ranging from TV preferences to paper book enthusiasts. Some contend that the animations TV provides foster the ability of imagination. In contrast, I believe that the prominent significance of reading habits in leisure time surpasses watching TV in terms of enhancing imagination and linguistics. In this essay, I will delve into certain reasons behind my critics.

Undoubtedly, while watching TV serves as an active input to enrich our imagination, given by their vibrant illustrations and captivating movements on the TV screen, it is also a two-edged sword which deteriorates our proactive ability of imagination about further visions that would not be limited by solely the given images on TV displays. Taking the comparison between the image of a monkey created by a book and a TV program, a child can freely envision the shape and color, furthermore, the surroundings of that monkey from basic information provided by the book, which is much better than a monkey of certain shape created by a TV producer.

Moving to the capability of obtaining languages, a book serves much better than a TV screen in this terms, proven by accuracy and flexibility in both written and spoken, which children can gain throughout the long period of meticulously learning and applying languages in their lives. The word ‘heart’, for instance, without its image, while children could not know the exact shape of the physical heart, they all factually apply it in the circumstances related to ‘love’, such as ‘you are in my heart’ which they had read on a certain page.

In conclusion, while it is indisputable the significant role of watching TV in our modern days, it also contains some potential pitfalls in terms of diminishing the ability of imagination and language skills of all generations, particularly kid ages. The upcoming benefits of reading habits as a tool to refine some drawbacks of indulging into TV programs, such as giving freedom to envision further and flexibility to use words in various issues without any boundary of images.