Recent research shows that the consumption of junk food is a major factor in poor diet and this is detrimental to health. Some people believe that better health education is the answer to this problem but others disagree. What is your opinion?

Not surprisingly eating too much fast food is going to give rise to a large number of health problems such as obesity and diabetes. To tackle this issue, there is a held view that health awareness is the key to mitigate the adverse effects of non-nutritious food. I think notwithstanding the fact that raising awareness about healthier diets is by far the most promising, the other ways of controlling this trend should be taken into account as well.

First and foremost, media and schools play the most crucial key role in educating people about correlating high-calorie intake to potential risks for health. In this regard, children can have related subjects in their curriculums at school which learn them about nourishments they need to get in a day and also warn them of consequences of fast food and carbonated drinks such as cola on their weight and growth. Besides, media can have a huge impact on encouraging people to integrate more vegetables and fruits into their diets as well as less consumption of sugar and fat. Authorities can make TV series on good nutrition and diets.

Last but not least, authorities or the government can enact laws which limit the affordability and accessibility of junk food. For example, food canteens and buffets at schools should be banned to sell fast foods or French fries along with carbonated beverages. Instead, they should sell packaged fruits and natural nuts to students. In addition, there can be loans allocated to organic food start-ups or restaurants instead of opening a pizzeria.

Based on what has been mentioned, health education is the best way to overcome poor diets; measures can be taken by the government to address this issue.