Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this problem?

There has been many discussions about whether prison is the proper punishment for criminals or not. Recent data depicts that, most of the people who get out of prison, continue to illegal activity. This essay will discuss the reason for this issue and possible ways of tackling this problem.

It has been said that prison is a very dangerous place for anyone. In most countries, prisoners are not treated very nicely. Criminals, usually people who are there for the first time, are faced with very harsh circumstances that they have not been preparing for. This kind of environment will only toughen whoever staying there. Moreover, even a person who serving for a misdemeanor, will change into a different and vicious person after coming upon people who have done major crimes. In other words, ironically, prison which is a place for offenders to learn their lesson, is usually the place that will make worse people out of them. For example, suppose a felon is in prison for stealing something of low value or a driving ticket he could not pay for. After spending a lot of time with men who have done worse, he can get encouraged to live life recklessly and breaking laws.

However, there are answers to this problem. Although prison should be sentence for the crime, that does not mean it has to be a bad place. If a criminal is thought to be only the someone who has lost his way, and his wrongdoings seen as mistakes, he will be treated much better. In this way, prisons can become a safe space for them to find their way back into a better life. Provided that, jails will nourish a person and improve their characters. Teaching offenders that what they did was a mistake and society will accept them once again when they have learned their lesson will motivate them to become better. To illustrate, various educational courses can be held in jail to teach them useful skills. These skills can be used to find proper jobs outside once they get out. Furthermore, convicts can lower their sentence by reading books. each book for instance, can take a week out of their jail time.

In conclusion, it is true that jails alters personality, and usually, that change is into worse. Their cruel conditions act as a catalyst in aggravating character. However, there are solutions which can be helpful. If prisons times are planned with attention to improvement, many walk out a better person. This can be achieved, although there is a long way to go.