In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

Although economic growth has contributed to increase the number of rich civilians in both developing and developed countries, people in developed countries feel as not satisfied with their life as they did in the past. It is caused by several reasons and also provide us various valuable lessons. I will present my viewpoints in this essay below.

On the on hand, the economic growth brings beneficial effects on people’s life. The fact is that when the economy develops, workers have more potential job opportunities; therefore, they can increase their average income. As the result, the percentage of upper-income citizens as the development of economy has experienced an accelerating trend in the recent years. A prime example is the hospitality industry which has been the million-dollar industry over the last decade. As the income of inhabitants rises, they would rather travel and enjoy their stay in luxury hotels than stay home. Therefore, the annual revenue of hotels increases dramatically and the hoteliers become richer than they did in the past.

On the other hand, wealthy people not always feel happy with their achievement. The fundamental reason for this is that the higher amount of money successful businessmen earn, the more tremendous pressure they have to work under. For instance, the proportion of Japanese suiciding as working stressfully has been grown unprecedentedly. The high workload mitigate the time spending for social relationships of workers and cause several mental health problems such as anxiety disorder, depression. Therefore, human beings should balance their career ambition and their life to live more meaningfully.

To sum up, despite the fact that the economic growth provides people many opportunities to become wealthier, people should balance between work and other social activities to reduce stress in the daily life.