In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

Economic growth has helped people from both developed and developing areas become more affluent as of late. Despite this, a majority of people from developed countries are now less happy than before. This issue can be attributed to a number of factors, and this essay will discuss what we can learn from it.

Two main factors are to blame for unhappiness among citizens in developed nations. Chief of these is that workers in these countries are experiencing heightened levels of pressure to work extended hours to ensure economic progress and, in turn, give up time for themselves and their loved ones. This can lead to various physical and mental health problems such as sleep deprivation, fatigue and depression. For instance, Japan is notorious for its stressful work culture, and it also has one of the highest depression and suicide rates among workers in the world. Added to this is the fact that young people in developed regions are prone to the pressure to succeed professionally and earn a lot of money. This means that many of them are forced to study hard and pursue well-paying careers which they are not interested in, causing their life contentment to plummet.

There are several lessons that can be learned from the current reality in some developed countries. To begin with, governments the world over ought to implement stringent limitations on working hours and ascertain that workers get enough rest and entertainment. Looking back at the example of Japan, this country has actively tried to redeem its demanding work culture by obligating its citizens to take at least five days off work for vacation every year and imposing strict punishments on companies which force their employees to work overtime. In addition, youngsters should be encouraged to pursue their own ambitions, rather than get unsatisfactory jobs just for the sake of making money. This can be done by conducting campaigns to raise public awareness about the importance of all types of jobs, along with subsidising youngsters who choose less lucrative career paths to make sure that they can work happily and free of monetary concerns.

In summary, people in developed nations are becoming less happy due largely to work and financial pressure, and governments should learn to ensure workers’ time off and young people’s freedom to seek their desired jobs.