In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travels to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Recently, plenty of small local stores have shut down as customers prefer to do their shopping from big trade centre or malls. It is a positive development because people can find a variety of options in one place and cheaper goods due to the competition.

This is a positive development because customers can choose a lot of variation of products in a single place. That is to say that, big stores have enough spaces to display different kinds of goods. As a result, people save time and energy by not going to different shops for each item. For example, one of the biggest fashion brand in the UK, H&M only have the full new collections in the stores which are in big shopping complexes as there is not enough space in the smaller ones.

Another reason of why this is a positive improvement is because customers can find low-cost products in shopping centres as there is a competition between higher number of stores. For attracting more consumers and burst the sales, shops that have similar goods in the same location, bring down the prices therefore buyers who prefer to shop from malls have advantage to find less expensive products compare to small traders. For example, big brands like Zara and Topshop doing special discounts at the same times of the year to compete with each other.

In conclusion, there has been a rising interest to shopping malls recently from consumers that caused to closure of many petty trades. This is a positive improvement as range of options in one place and competitions between stores reduce prices.