In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that it is imperative to spend great amount of funds on building new railroads for high-speed trains between cities, while others believe that the money should be used for enhancing existing public transport. While spending money on constructing new railways is make it easier to commute between cities, I believe that is better to invest for development of existing public transport as it would be cheaper.

On the one hand, investing huge amount of money in the construction of new railways lines would make it easier to travel from one city to another. This is because new trains and the railroads are well-designed to able to go high-speed and more convenient as it could save time and money. For example, in Turkey, between Istanbul and Ankara it used to take 10 hours, but after a faster train was used the journey became faster by 4 hours. However, I believe that this is not the most convenient way to invest money because it would cost a fortune to building those new railways.

On the other hand, investing the money in the improvement of the current public transport would be more economical. This is because improved rail lines will have fewer technical problems and that result in government would spend less funds to repairing trains. For example, in 2018, the UK government released that they have saved 10 million pounds with only improving current underground trains as It was started to work with less breakdowns. I believe this investment is more preferable because it would help to save more money for both individuals and government.

In conclusion, although using public funds on the improvement of new railroads might make it more effortless to travel between cities, it will cost a lot to building those lines and that is why it is better to spend for improving current transportation because it costs lower.