In recent years, the number of crimes committed by young people in major cities throughout the world increasing. Discuss this issue. Give reasons and solution.

Nowadays, a growing number of youngsters are reported to have engaged in nefarious activities such as theft, prostitution, fraud and drug trafficking, and this disturbing phenomenon has raised considerable concerns about an escalation of youth crimes in major metropolises around the world. In order to delve deeply into this issue, this essay will explore the primary causes of this social problem and provide feasible solutions to this situation.

In fact, juvenile delinquency is ascribed to peer influence and social media. To begin with, there is some evidence that peer influence correlates strongly with the rising crime rate among young people. Youngsters who lack parental care tend to seek emotional support and self-recognition from their peers. However, these neglected adolescents may go astray or even perpetrate heinous crimes if they are adversely affected by their peers. For instance, their villainous friends may inveigle them into joining criminal gangs and then compel them to engage in illegal activities. Being subjected to the intimidation and violence of their peers, these young people have little choice but to commit the criminal offense.

In addition, social media is the second factor accountable for the increase in youth crimes. It is generally acknowledged that juvenile delinquency is inextricably intertwined with the exposure to violence, pornography and fraud transmitted by media such as TV shows, movies and the Internet. If teenagers frequently receive information containing abusive language and physical violence from media, they not only imitate and internalize the aggressive behavior but also resort to violence when they see no other way to address their personal problems. Moreover, pornographic and fraudulent messages conveyed by media usually mislead young people into believing that they can use their body and deception to obtain money.

Despite the rampant crimes that plague contemporary society, there are two preventive measures that we can take to check the growth in juvenile delinquency. First, parents and teachers should shoulder the responsibility for supervising and educating young people. For example, they have an obligation to inculcate in children socially acceptable values and norms, reinforcing the ideas of observing laws, pursuing justice and condemning crime. Furthermore, it is incumbent upon parents and teachers to help youngsters select their friends and steer them away from the media detrimental to their character development. Additionally, media censorship is another strategy to prevent young people from being morally contaminated by the inappropriate messages. Violent or sexual TV shows, for instance, cannot be displayed until 11 p.m. every day whereas legislators should pass the law that requires Internet companies to filter or block the violent-and-sex-filled content. Although some people contend that media censorship infringes on people’s right to freedom of expression, this restriction ensures young people have no access to the information that induces them to perpetrate crimes.

To recapitulate, juvenile delinquency is a complex problem that draws a lot of people’s attention. There is no single cause of this phenomenon, but the two factors such as peer influence and social media are the two main contributors to the rising crime rate. Nevertheless, if the aforementioned precautions are taken into account, significant decreases in delinquency might be achieved.