In recent years, pressure on school and university students have been increasing and they are pushed to work very hard from a young age. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Recently, the question of a huge amount of pressure placed on students at schools has become a fiercely controversial issue. Some people assert that this phenomenon exerts positive influences on pupils, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that pressure on students has a number of benefits. Perhaps an obvious advantage is that students who are accustomed to experiencing pressure from an early age are more likely to deal with a myriad of situations related to their live wisely since they learned how to become patient. As an illustration, when I was a university student, my school forced me to following gruelling schedules and this experience enabled me to overcome unpredictable situations at my work. In addition, a competitive atmosphere at universities makes it possible for pupils to more concentrate on their academic performance as they are stimulated by their colleges. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that pressure have positive effects on students.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that imposing a great deal of pressure on students brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that placing excessive burden on study causes some students to become stressed and it generates some students to commit suicide. Furthermore, pupils who live in competitive society have a tendency to undergo lack of exercising, which leads to not only physical health problems but also mental problems. To exemplify, one recent article released by the Seoul Times illustrates that the number of students attending physical activities on a regular basis has continuously decreased from 2005 to 2018 and the main reason for this phenomenon turned out to be excessive studies.

In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.