In recent years, the pressure of students in university is increasing and they are pushed to work hard from a young age. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Students today are forced to study hard at a young age. I firmly believe that it has a positive impact on children’s development.

Initially, pressure on children would be a stimulus which helps achieve their academic potential. Exposure to peer pressure catalyzes students to study harder than before as they would dedicate themselves to study if they found they fall behind others. The solid knowledge base they built tends to help them acquire advanced knowledge and complicated skills.

In addition, hard-working is the capability which will benefit children even in adulthood . To be more precise, hard-working, time-management, as well as stress-handler, are essential to future academic development, working life or even a lifetime continuous learning.

Starting to work hard at an early age contributes to forming those qualities and skills which they will gain immense reward for the rest of their life. On the other hand, a high level of pressure and anxiety cause damage to children’s mental health. From a psychological perspective, children would be dominated by frustration and find it difficult to concentrate on what they learn if they are under too much stress. Therefore, it is the parents’ role to frequently communicate with their children about things happened in their schools as well as cooperating with their teachers to reduce stress and relieve it to a healthy level.

In conclusion, from my perspective, a reasonable level of pressure is required when they are young with an attempt in accomplishing their achievements. At the same time, they are also encouraged to participate in extra-curriculum activities for rest.