In recent years,the pressures placed upon students in school and university is increasing and they are pushed to work hard from a young age. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Schools are considered as a place where the next generation gains knowledge and improve work skills. Because of the intensive competition in the job market,enormous pressures have been placed on young pupils. This essay will discuss why this trend has undesirable effects on teenagers.

It is true that the younger generation may benefit these stresses from school and university as it could help student improve their academic performance as well as employability. For example,driven by pressure,students may pay more attentions in science classes and conduct in experiments carefully. In this way,pupils are able to have a good grasp of advanced technology,thereby enhancing their abilities,such as critical thinking skill and analytical skills. When they enter the workforce,students will become more competitive because of the knowledge and skills acquired from school.

However,the argument above can be viewed from a different perspective as too much pressure can damage students’ personal development. Because of the stress from school,students may an excessive amount of time on school work instead of participating in extra-curricular activities,such as playing sports and hanging out with friends. With less interaction with peers, teenagers may fail to develop social skills and emotional intelligence. They may have difficulties in empathizing and communicating with the others when they grow up and this can adversely impact their career.

Moreover, increased stress can pose a strain on students’ mental health. Since the mentality of teenagers are immature, pupils may not efficiently handle pressure and workload. Therefore, students will experience more negative emotions, including anxiety, anger and depression, which damage their psychological development. Recent researches show that students who experience more stress are at higher risk at having mental disorders in adulthood.

In conclusion, I strongly argue that putting pressures on students is a negative development as it damages students’ personal progression and mental development.