Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Excessive consumption of certain types of food products is demonstrated to be detrimental to health as smoking. While a school of thought holds that governments should prohibit promotions of these certain food products as cigarettes in many nations, I believe that there are more viable measures to alleviate the overeating phenomenon.

The idea that forbidding advertising campaigns of some types of food is of necessity to deal with overeating is not unfounded. The key rationale is that if these commodities are hindered from promoting on some social platforms such as Facebook or Instagram as well as on TV, they cannot be prevalently publicized to their target audience. Therefore, the number of consumers of these foods may reduce. However, this view is valid to some extent. Given that banning advertisements of foods may be futile to decrease the number of people eating them. Cigarettes are a case in point. There are more and more citizens in a lot of countries who addict this product, regardless of forbidding policies from authorities.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are superior ways to diminish this phenomenon. To begin with, new education projects should be adopted in schools to help children understand about adverse effects of overeating to their well-being. To be specific, some curriculums such as obesity or other health-related problems should be added in these classes. Another method to tackle this problem is that governments should levy a higher tax on these kinds of food, hence increasing costs of these food products. By this way, people may be discouraged from consuming them due to their high prices.

In conclusion, while overeating issue can be effectively mitigated by banning their commercial campaigns, there are some more feasible methods to reserve this phenomenon.