Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes in some countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In recent years, overconsuming food products has been receiving a great deal of media attention around the world for many reasons. Although, some might suggest that food advertising programmes should be banned like cigarettes due to they have an adverse impact on society. The suggestion is groundless and should not be implemented.

There are a number of reasons why some think that the advertising of food products should be prohibited.

First, these days people are easy to find various forms of advertisements on the road, the internet with vivid images to attract customers and bring much more revenue for businesses. This means that it encourages people to spend enormous money to make unnecessary shopping choices, leading to financial stress, credit card debt, and other money-relative issues.

Second, if people consume too much fast food like hamburgers, pizza, which could be detrimental to their health, causing various health problems like high blood pressure, stroke, heart attack, or even cancer.

There is also a myriad of reasons why some oppose banning TV commercial programmes.

It is clear that the advertising industry is improved significantly in recent decades, creating a wide range of job opportunities for people, they are more likely to earn a stable income, which can help them improve their living standard. If governments remove advertising, people would face various difficulties to earn a well-paid job, force them to take a low-paid job, or even unemployment.

Another reason is that advertising can raise people’s awareness and knowledge about product development and they could make better shopping choices. For example, thanks to watching TV commercials about different brands of shampoo products, clients could choose the best products for them.

In conclusion, although advertising could have a detrimental impact on society, it brings more positive effects overall. Government should consider making the best solution.