Research has shown that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertising of certain food products should be banned in the same way as the advertising of cigarettes is banned. Do you agree or disagree?

The over-consumption of certain kinds of foods such as fast food can have a detrimental impact on health as smoking. Although I agree with the statement, I strongly believe that the advertisements of these foods should not be prohibited as those of cigarettes.

To begin with, it is widely known that smoking can result in health deterioration. To be more specific, smoke coming from cigarettes is likely to harm not only smokers but also surrounding people. Frequent exposure to smoke will lead to a high risk of respiratory illnesses ranging from asthmas to even lung cancer. Likewise, eating too much junk food can damage people's health. This is because fast food is high in carbohydrate and fat levels but low in fibers or proteins, thus it can cause Illnesses such as diabetes on obesity. Therefore, over-consuming fast food can be as harmful as smoking to health of consumers or users.

Nevertheless, I would argue that it is not necessary to prohibit fast food adverts as those of cigarettes for several reasons. First, fast food has gained more popularity worldwide in recent years because of its convenience, so it seems to become a necessary dish for the majority of people. Cigarettes, meanwhile, seems te be favorable to only a small group of individuals. Therefore, the prohibition of fast food advertising programs may lead to a more significant decrease in sales for food businesses which if thriving will support governments to carry out a variety of important concerns such as social security or education through a large amount of taxes. In my opinion, it would be better to impose a strict regulation to force advertisers to display clear health warnings and ingredients of food products in customers' health protection.

In conclusion, although certain advertised food such as fast food can cause negative impacts on consumers' health as cigarettes. I believe that the two products advertising should not end up the same way that is prohibition.