Research into medical treatments are essential to improve health and fight disease Who do you think should fund this research individuals private companies or governments

Medical research has become a debatable topic in recent years. Some individuals think that the government should be responsible for funding these projects, while others think private companies and individuals are responsible. Personally, I believe that the government should mainly invest in these fields with help from private companies to achieve more accomplishment.

On the one hand, some people claim that it is acceptable when individuals and private companies fund medical research as any medical research will help develop preventive plans and vaccines to prevent several diseases. Medical research by private companies will help the public find treatment and vaccination to demolish diseases and this would be essential for better health of the population. However, these researches would have property rights, intellectual and monopoly over the product during a given period. As a result their product would have a higher price and there will be limited access to the treatment or vaccines.

On the other hand, I still believe that it is the government responsible to invest in research to improve public health. Firstly, research from the government will help citizens have equality in medical access. It is the government responsible to improve the country's health and prevent any disease. Secondly, there is global cooperation among countries to help improve public’s health. For example, Covid -19 has become a global pandemic, and this kind of cooperation will help to achieve the results faster while it could be impossible between companies or individuals.

In conclusion, even though individual and private companies should help investing in medical research, I believe that the investment from the government could help the citizens access quality in medicine.