Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is increasingly popular nowadays that there are many business meetings, discussions and training are taking place on the Internet. Although doing this has several advantages, the drawbacks of it are far more significant.

There can be some minor advantages to holding the virtual conferences, one of which is related to its convenient functions. It is believed that this is a time-saving way that allows employees to participate in any conferences without worrying about transfer time or distance. This may reduce their business costs when traveling to the discussion locations and save budget for other activities. Another point worth mentioning is that organizing the meetings on the Internet may be an efficient measure when there are any urgent situations, which helps to tackle the problems as soon as possible. However, these advantages, in the long run, may cause a lack of face-to-face communication, which results in a deterioration in interpersonal skills.

Nevertheless, taking online discussions can have several downsides that outweigh the mention benefits. One disadvantage could be that employees are unable to get enough information through video conferencing which leads to inefficient results. Those who take part in the group call may get distracted by a lot of people, and thus they meet difficulties to catch up with their colleagues. Besides, trainees were only instructed through the application, which leads to some struggles while applying at work. In other words, if the trainees attend these types of discussions, they will be unaccustomed to socialize with colleagues in person and fail to cooperate with others in tasks requiring teamwork.

In conclusion, in my opinion, the limitations outweigh the benefits. Despite the advantages that online meetings can bring, it still does more harm than good.