Research shows that business meetings, discussions, and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Business conferences and training are taking place more and more on online platforms nowadays. In my opinion, the benefits of the common use of the internet outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, technical limitations and lack of self-discipline are the two major problems when doing online work. Firstly, communication via the Internet can be a hindrance as there might be failures in the flow of information. To illustrate, not everyone can afford a high-speed internet connection and use the latest programs or software properly. Therefore, it can cause disruptions and reduce comprehension among meetings or training participants. In addition, there is little room for practice and the distractions also prevent people from fully grasping the skills. It would be less productive because employees receiving training can not acquire knowledge completely as reality is sometimes different from theory. Moreover, being online for the better part of the day with the availability of gaming and social media sites can get everyone easily distracted.

However, I am more convinced that the advantages of virtual meetings are more significant. It offers staff increased flexibility and full control of their timetable, which is much less time and money consuming. For example, not having to worry about catching the train or bus gives people peace of mind and start working essentially earlier than others who need to commute to work. Furthermore, this online mode of operation could help companies economize on expenditure by not having to pay for the electricity bills, printed documents, or equipment for earning out the meeting or training procedures. Another worth mentioned advantage of online work is a customized environment can diminish the unnecessary high-levels and thus boost their work.

In conclusion, online communication provides a convenient way to participate in discussions or training sessions, as well as to improve the working atmosphere. Therefore, its benefits can overpower the drawbacks of itself.