Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

In these days, the issue associated with criminals has aroused people’s concern. It is supposed that a large proportion of criminals are likely to re-commit crimes after being released from prison. There are some crucial reasons relating to this situation could be pronounced, they are not without feasible solutions.

There are several principal reasons why many criminals who have served their sentences commit further crimes after releasing back to the society. First, since prison regarded as an institution with an aim of punishing wrongdoers, this does not mean all criminals would change their behaviors after setting free. Only the full weight of the law, hence, would act as a deterrent, prevent criminals from committing again. Secondly, by being a crowded and violent place, there are plenty of aggressive criminals have an adverse impact and intimidate other inmates, which may form a network for future crimes such as a criminal prison gang called The PCC do in Brazil.

The problem above can be remedied, provided that some of the following steps are taken. One solution is that ex-offenders should be given chance to reintegrate them back into community. It is imperative for some educational or training programmes to be implemented so as to provide criminals an opportunity of rehabilitation. For instance, universities and colleges can offer degree programme to enable ex-offenders to gain qualification. Moreover, community service is another method to reform people who commit to an offence. To be more specific, rather than being locked up with other inmates, lesser criminals could help society and become more useful to their local community.

The issue of recommitting crimes after being released from prison among the majority of criminals has become a dilemma and some feasible solutions should be adopted only when concerted endeavors are made by government and individuals. Can this thorny problem be resolved perfectly.