Researches show that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, the advertisements of food products should be banned in the same way as cigarettes advertising is banned in many countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific studies show that consumption of more than enough is equally unhealthy as smoking. It is my firm belief that commercial publicity of food products should be prohibited in the same manner many nations do to cigarettes. Since this encourages sound eating habits and prolongs people's life span.

The most important reason why food product adverts should be forbidden in tandem with cigarettes is to reduce addiction. In other words, if there is no public awareness of such products given, only few people will be interested in them. For example, it has been found that the ban of cigarettes advertising in some countries, tremendously helped to decrease the number of people who smoke. Therefore, if food products are not allowed to be promoted through mass media, a habbit of eating more than required can eventually disappear.

Another reason why food products should not be hyped is to reduce the prevalence of the diseases that emanate from over consuming. For instance, if people eat a balanced diet, they become healthy and live longer. Furthermore, when people are not occasionally falling sick, this gives a relief to overburdened health budgets and the surplus cash realised will be used to finance and improve other government services. Nevertheless, if advertisements of fast foods is permitted in public places, people's life expectancy maybe shortened due to illnesses caused by excessively eating. Hence, the need to promote public health through unauthorisation of food merchandise marketing is inevitable.

In conclusion, I have completely admitted that banning of food product advertising should be taken seriously by any country that values its citizenry well being and resources.