Restrictions On Ownerships Of Mobile Phones

Mobile phones have left a big mark on our time and have completely changed the way of everyday life for the majority of the population. In recent years, they have been becoming increasingly common. They are small computers, designed to fit in our hands and be carried around throughout our daily life. I think humankind benefits a lot from this technological and engineering advancement. However, there are downsides to their use, and a lot of people will argue their ownership should be restricted in some way.

We are living in the Information age. Information is the most important and most valuable thing right now. A mobile phone is a device that makes sharing that same information possible, just by reaching to our pocket and pressing one or two buttons. They proved very useful and in modern times it is very rare to find a person who does not own at least one cell phone. Moreover, I think it is a very bad idea to restrict their ownership. They are an integral part of our lives and it is very hard to imagine how it would look like without them. Not to mention the anger that would trigger in ordinary people who are highly dependant on them. It would be hard to be done in practice, and there would be a risk of riots breaking out. Even if such governments’ decisions passed in peace, there would be a real possibility of the development of the mobile phone black market.

Nevertheless, a non-negligible number of people will argue they should be restricted. They claim that signals produced by mobile phones harm our health. Supporters of this idea also say people, in general, become too occupied with their phones and that children should not be allowed to spend so much time using it. To some extent, I agree.

To conclude, although there might be negative consequences from the excessive use of smartphones, I think they have become a necessity in our lives. However, I do think young people should be careful and manage their time with phones better, but I feel like it is the parents’ obligation to upbring their children in such a way.