Nowadays parents are sending their children on trips abroad for educational purposes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent times, there is an increasing number of parents who send their children on trips abroad for educational purposes. This newly established practice provides a valuable and enriching experience for their children. However, it may also have some disadvantages.

Education is one of the most valuable assets a person can have and, besides in a school, it can be obtained by traveling the world and discovering new cultures. Having this in mind, if parents want their child to become an educated individual, they could send the child on some kind of venture to the world at an early age. There are a lot of summer schools, events and a wide variety of volunteer organizations where families can send their younger members to. T This kind of exposure and diversification of experiences can broaden their views and contribute to development of their characters in a unique way. Additionally, there is a possibility they will encounter some interesting individuals of their age and form new friendships.

On the other hand, these trips are usually very expensive and can take a financial toll on an average family. Moreover, it can put a lot of pressure on the child, who is probably too young not to get stressed about it. Going abroad means that the child will be separated from its family and friends. In fact, children will most likely be scared to go to a foreign country because they might not yet realize all the benefits they can have in the long run. For this reason and coupled with high expenditures, sending children abroad for educational purposes will not be the easiest decision for a parent to make.

I think that someone who was sent abroad for educational purpose at an early age, should be very grateful and appreciate what his parents did for him. Surely that helped him develop into a person he is today. Although prices can be high, those families who are more fortunate than others should seriously consider their children experiencing life abroad.