The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Lifestyle of people is changing rapidly and along with that people’s eating habits and food choices are also changing. Currently, fast food is gaining popularity among every age groups because of its flexibility with modern lifestyle. There are several benefits of consuming these foods. I presume that disadvantages of this trend outweigh advantages. Both merits and demerits of this eating habit are justified in the ensuing paragraphs.

Discussing the merits, the foremost one is that it requires less time to get prepared. In addition, majority of fast-food items are readily available in the market, which makes it easy to prepare and less time consuming. Moreover, the price of these food items is very less comparing to the traditional food items. For instance, Burger and hotdog are available in half price than full Indian traditional snacks. Likewise, fast-foods have provided diversity in eating habits; nowadays, people are including fast-foods in their dinner and lunch menu. Also, these food items are becoming famous in street food marked and due to this several individuals are getting employment.

However, I would not overlook the darker side of this swing. The first and foremost negative is that it is not healthy comparing to the traditional food. To add on, majority of convenient foods are half cooked and this may cause problems with the digestion system. For an illustration, food poisoning is common these days, which might be due to fast-foods. Similarly, these food items are high in cholesterol, which is the major source of causing heart attacks. Furthermore, several fast-food stalls or restaurants are not hygienic.

To conclude, it can be stated that currently craze of consuming fast food is emerging rapidly due to its properties, such as less time consumption, low price and diversity. However, this swing has more cons because it is not healthy and several problems can occur such as, diarrhoea, vomiting and in long term heart attack too. So, people should adapt healthy eating style to overcome these problems in future.