For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teachers nurture greater children's intellectual and behavioural development compared to parents. In my perspective, the role of teachers is undoubted but we also should not evaluate lowly the importance of parental education to a child's holistic growth.

To begin with, when children start school, they spend a large proportion of time at school and with their teachers, which explains why teachers have a significant influence on children. In most countries, the average amount of time students use at school is 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, it means that in that period they will be taught fundamental everything, participating in numerous extracurricular activities and have social interactions with peers. Through observing children playing, teachers can identify each one's individual personality and build up the right method to promote their student to develop their social skills. In addition, there is another reason why teachers have a major impact on children is that teachers are professionally trained with modern pedagogical methods which are daily updated and suitable for many kinds of students.

On the other hand, parents can have a substantial influence on their children because they are a child's first role model and establish the foundation for cognitive and emotional development for the first five years of a child's life. In this period of time, children have the most contact with their parents, not teachers. As is proven in the Journal of Early Childhood Research, children’s first five years is when a child’s brain develops more and faster than any other time in his or her life. It is further explained that the child’s early experiences, especially the relationship with his or her parents, stimulate the brain and create millions of connections, forming the child’s base for further development.

In conclusion, parents and teachers both play a vital role in the comprehensive development of children. While parents are the ones lay foundations for children's overall maturation, teachers make a considerable contribution to students' intellectual and social skills.