School should be a safe environment for learning and developing, however, school violence seems to be increasing. Where does this problem come from? What should we do to change the situation?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

School has always been a secure environment for students to gain knowledge and develop their personal aspects. However, it is evident that school violence is on the rise. This serious problem can occur in many forms, ranging from physical violence to psychological violence, which is commonly expressed through acts of bullying, intimidation and repression. On the whole, violence in schools creates insecurity and fear which harm the general school climate and infringe pupils’ right to learn in an unthreatening environment.

There are some main factors which lead to school violence. Adults often blame uncensored images and videos on social media for being the chief culprit behind school violence. The blooming development of science and technology means that social media is increasingly becoming a part of youth’s culture. In recent years, social media proves to be an innovative space for sharing information, but it also brings violence to the young generation somehow. We can easily see photos or videos of school violence posted nearly everyday. The television is full of brutal images of shooting and killing scenes. This explains why children who view those are tend to imitate them. Moreover, violent video games contribute to school violence as much as the violent social media does. The line between reality and fantasy nearly seems invisible, so children can inadvertently absorb violence as a normal thing.

Another factor leading to this situation is because of the school’s overly-lenient rules. As a result, students who often bully their peers will have a chance to bully them over and over again. Teachers usually just stop the fights but don't educate their students properly so that they will not relapse. But not only students show brutality to their mates but there have been events in which teacher insulted or even fought student, they absolutely harmed both physical and mental status of students, and this is a huge drawback of our educational system these days.

So what should we do to stop school violence? The first and foremost recommendation is to raise extensive knowledge about the negative impact of school violence to students. About the effects of media, we can reduce violence by letting the competent authorities to control the content more strictly. Also, it is parents’ responsibility to educate their children, starting by being good role models. Parents should talk to their children, ask them about their thoughts and fears, to make sure that they are not suffering from any kind of bullying... On school aspect, school should be a safe environment for students to get knowledge and perfect personality. Teachers and staff should not only teach students but also support and guide them to have the right awareness. They need to be a safe place for students whenever they have troubles with their friends at school. If everyone gives a hand to help reducing school violence, we can prevent this problem.

In conclusion, there are various repercussions regarding school violence, yet, this serious problem can be solved once according measures are enlisted imperatively.