Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do agree or disagree?

The rapid growth of the Internet has offered many opportunities for children to study on their own and therefore, there has been a viewpoint that schools are not needed anymore. In my opinion, although the Internet can do wonders for a student, it can not replace the present of school.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that with the help of the online searching engine, students can easily get access to a diversity of knowledge in the the blink of an eye no matter what they are at school or not. Indeed, by a keyword, the students can find a variety of topics ranging from art and culture to finance and banking. Moreover, there are plethora of sources and study materials available on the online website so that students can utilize them as a reference. For example, a well-known self study website called Coursera are all the rage in recent years with reliable methods of teaching which come from numerous renowned universities all over the world such as Havard, Yales and so on.

However, I opine that formal education is irreplaceable in any society. Firstly, an absence of school can lead to the student’s lack of teacher’s guidance and peer support which play a vital role for the learner's improvement. When students are allowed to study at home with online resources, they may easily get exposed to unverified contents which can potentially cause harm to their further knowledge and they may feel discouraged as there are no friends in companion with them. Furthermore, school is where student can build social relationship and enhance their interpersonal skill. Children who attend school are able to bolster friendship and experience the most memorable moment in life with lots of fun as well as having a chance to face with any possible struggles that could come up in the course of studying. As a result, not only students can boost the learning outcome, they can also be well-prepared for any difficulties in the later stage of their life.

To conclude, it seems to me that although Internet is helpful for home studying, it fails to completely alter traditional school.