Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technological advances have revolutionized many aspects of life, sparking debates about whether physical schools should be made redundant. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that the Internet cannot marginalize traditional education institutions.

Granted, proponents of brick-and-mortar schools may argue that the Internet could empower students to assess a plethora of subject-related information and lessons online without charges. YouTube, one of the biggest online-sharing platforms, for example, has facilitated many students' learning journey, serving as a testament to how powerful technology can be in our lives. However, herein lies the rub: learners could easily be overwhelmed by an enormous amount of information and countless learning materials. This, as a consequence, leads to students not knowing where to start and what to do next with their studies, stifling their ability to effectively study and hence an ineffective learning method.

The argument in favor of conventional schools is further strengthened by its role as a facilitator for developing interpersonal skills. For example, collaborating closely in a group to do a presentation can foster a sense of cooperation for those involved. The same can be said about other skills such as conflict resolution, teamwork, time management, among others. Moreover, schools provide students with a structured curriculum, potentially helping develop overall skills, knowledge and avoid being confused by an unorganized long list of information and materials floating around the Internet. These two aforementioned arguments lead me to believe that schools cannot be marginalized and still have an indispensable role to play in our modern world.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating a future world without physical schools, I would argue that it is still crucial to keep these schools, given the potential confusion of the Internet, schools’ role in fostering soft skills, and its nature to offer a structured, organized school curriculum.