Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that, today, most of the schools have been focused much on teaching conventional subjects. However, some believe that imbibing job-related skills would be more important for children. At this juncture, I believe that the latter view is more advantageous than the first one owing to following reasons.

To begin with, school is the right place to inculcate job related skills which are essential for the children in the future. To be more precise, when a person engages in a work place, skills such as team work, co-ordination, management and communication are imperative since these sources could not be learned in a day. Thus, it is reasonable to say that spending more time for job related subjects are beneficial in schools.

Another justification is that,teaching job focused subjects help pupils to set their job profile in the future. This would mean that, children would learn how to prepare their curriculum vitae or a covering letter according to the standards of the employers. In fact, children would get a great exposure to the job requirements in-advance from the school.

In reality, schools are trying to give much emphasis on traditional subjects. They do so, because traditional subjects are considered as a way to conserve our culture and traditions. Even if it is so, in my opinion subjects related to job skills are more better than the conventional ones.

To conclude, I reiterate that, though teaching traditional subjects in schools are beneficial, I believe that schools should focus more on subjects that can improve the job skills among children. Hopefully, teachers, parents and statutory bodies would recognise this in the future.