Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job.To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Schools teach a variety of subjects. The curriculum is designed in such a way that the students grow in an all round way. There are certain subjects like history as well and some people think that more time should be spent on teaching skills that can help the students to find a job. I personally favour the notion.

The education system is more focused towards theoretical knowledge and the students are often bombarded with a ton of bookish knowledge. Some information provided to the students are outdated and some knowledge will never help them at any phase of their lives.

In my opinion the best form of acknowledging students is by the method of learning be doing. When the students are made to learn a skill they are automatically acquiring the theoretical knowledge and science associated with the skill. The projects and assignments cement the knowledge in the minds of the students hence giving them education for the lifetime.

The skills also help the students in getting jobs in the future. For example, if the skill like how to make handicrafts is included in the curriculum it can help the students in the later part of their lives. Some students can get jobs and some might even become entrepreneurs by starting their own online and offline handicrafts shop.

In my view a ratio should be fixed between teaching skills and traditional subjects with a majority of share being given to the skills. It will help students as well as the country by providing the next generation of skilled pupils.