Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodworking should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some people believe that academic success and passing examinations are more important for children to focus on at school, other skills, such as cookery, dressmaking and woodworking, can be learned at home by their families. Personally, this statement cannot convince me well due to some specific reasons.

First and foremost, the basic reason that makes parents allow their children to come to school is to help them educate their kids. It is a fact that parents, these days, are too busy to deal with their childen's study themselves, so they send their kids to places which are called schools to do that. Therefore, if the education systems cannot educate well those students, they should review their primary functions when establishing those systems. This can be seen from the cases of students who have parents working at high positions in companies, including the chief executive officers, they can be good at several professional fields; however, it does not mean that they will have time to teach their children, even the smallest lessons.

Additionally, the school will be a place that assists students prepare for their future paths and this is its primary function. If they just educate academic courses and focus on examinations only, they will hardly ensure that their children are prepared well for the future. This is because those academic courses will not be completely useful and appropriate for students, except people who want to work in those jobs. Furthermore, cookery and other classes do not only fit those who intend to work professionally, but also fit those that do not have desire to go deeply into those fields. Since, these classes are practical and useful in their ways. For instance, when a student goes to study abroad, it is a big plus for him to know how to make food and to repair old clothes themselves, instead of spending money on having someone do for him.

In summary, I firmly disagree with the idea that schools should only pay attention to academic subjects and examinations rather than having practical courses, consisting of cookery and woodworking, in their schedules. These courses will have children in some specific situations in the later-on lives and also help parents to put more efforts on their works.