Technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of information technology, it is possible for children to spend their free time surfing the internet and doing other activities on mobile devices. While there are several advantages and also disadvantages in this situation, I do believe that the drawbacks are more outweighed the benefits.

To begin with, technologies and mobile devices create many opportunities for children to develop their awareness of the world around them. By using their free time to surf the internet, children can go to websites that contain knowledge they are not taught at school, such as Wikipedia. In this way, their hard skills and soft skills may be improved a lot. Moreover, teenagers who spend a long day at school have more methods to relax and entertain. There are several video clips or games on the internet that not only can help kids to entertain themselves but also learn more things about actual life. Hence, technology can be considered as a way for children to keep themselves in whenever they have leisure time.

In contrast, the Internet includes abundant disadvantages that children cannot aware of. It is no matter whether the reasons for using technology are good or not, it brings the kids isolation. By spending time using mobile phones, even in their free time, children can be dependent on it. Day by day, they will see their smart devices as the sole friend they have. Lost connection to the real world is not a good way that parents should let their children in. Furthermore, time-consuming is the next problem that parents ought to consider in this case. Instead of taking an hour on the internet to communicate with virtual friends, teenagers can hang out with real friends and maintain the relationship between them. So, technologies contain many drawbacks that children must think carefully about before determining to keep themselves in.

In conclusion, although there are benefits that technologies bring to children’s lives, it also consists of disadvantages that need to be taken considerably. In some situations, the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.