Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies Do you agree or disagree

It is argued that governments have an important role in controlling and conducting research for scientific intentions compared to private co-operations. I partially agree with the above statement. This essay will first demonstrate the benefits that private institutions bring for humanity, and then make an analysis of the main drawbacks of independent companies.

With regards to financial backgrounds, there is no room for doubt that private companies have a great potential to carry out some prohibitively expensive experiments due to huge financial resources. This is because their major purpose is simply making discoveries that contribute to the science field, whereas the governments or the local authorities need to budget their finance effectively to cover all of the fundamental sectors such as transportation, education, military, or health to support their citizens. Taking America as a prime example, where it was undeniable to a huge contribution of Tesla – a world-famous private institution - to discover a potential vaccine that widely cured its population of malaria in 2015.

It is undoubtedly recognized the importance of the governments in keeping private companies under observation to ensure residents safety. Due to the fact that scientific experiments could lead to negative consequences for society like environmental destruction or public health concern, government implementation is taken into consideration to prevent unpleasant situations. For instance, in an attempt to produce a medical treatment of obesity, Vedan production, which is situated in Vietnam, posed a serious threat to the destruction of the Thi Vai river by discharging toxic substances into the river in 2014. The governments eventually had to make an investigation of this case and permanently prohibited this company from working.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both the governments and private companies should have the allowance in order to carry scientific research.