Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the necessity of scientific research has grown rapidly coupled with the development of economics and technology. Although private companies could do scientific research projects with their own capability, it is more reasonable for governments to cover this field.

There has been a number of reasons convincing that the government should be responsible for projects in the sciences sector. First, the government possesses a big budget from both tax revenue and foreign investment, which can thoroughly deal with the financial concerns of projects. In fact, by allocating resources in an efficient way, the government can considerably boost the nation’s key projects which require enormous funds. Second, the authority could connect and build a scientific expert community, ensuring every project is of speed and quality. For example, thanks to the developing international relationship among countries around the world, the government has played a vitally important role in hiring foreign specialists in several sectors, who would share their experiences and knowledge to support the local ones.

While private companies also have the ability to do scientific researches, there have been some barriers that interfere with them. First, since the scientific can affect directly the local citizens, regulations always impose stricter laws on non-government institutions. This means that every firm would have to deal with a burden of legal documents if they want to participate in sensitive sectors, especially in health and the environment. Second, it is difficult for a private company to build trust from research users due to the existence of some bad-intention projects. For example, in order to optimize profitability, some companies have utilized fake information to portray reality in a way that is favorable to their own interests which ends up deteriorating the trustworthiness of other companies.

In conclusion, while private companies could possess qualified financial power to do scientific research, the government is more likely to do it more safely and more reliable.