Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people say that the private companies will do the scientific research better than the governments, but some of the others say otherwise. But in my opinion, both the government and private companies will each have pros and cons, and will have different purposes and different ways of implementing research.

Admittedly, scientific research conducted by private companies will support human civilization's development and breakthrough. But private corporations, regardless of how they research and generate knowledge that benefits mankind, will nonetheless consider the profit they gain. What is the annual profit from this research? They have many unique ideas to develop and research, and they can do whatever they want for their research. For example, as a Big Data company, Vingroup sponsors scientific research projects. They also conduct research on stroke treatment, artificial intelligence, and other topics. Of course, they'll see if this study is beneficial to their clients and how much profit they can earn from it.

About the government, they do scientific research for different purposes. They make research to have more solutions to solve problems such as covid - 19, global warming, air pollution,... When the government does research, it considers if the problem can be handled more fully and how this will benefit the citizens. At the same time, they only research and solve the most urgent problems. Of course, they will have greater resources to investigate and will be trusted by the citizens. For example, in this covid - 19 pandemic, the government tried to research about the vaccine to help their citizens. As you see, they will do the research for their citizens.

In conclusion, private companies and the government each have their own research goal and process. People will trust the government more, but private companies will have more ideas and discoveries. Both scientific research on these two are equally fascinating.