Scientists predict, in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people

It is assumed by some scientists that computers will undertake car functions rather than human drivers in the foreseen future. Although autonomous cars have some drawbacks in terms of unemployment and safety, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

There are numerous benefits of robotic cars, one of which is road safety improvement. In other words, an increment in computer-controlled automobiles will lead to a drop in human error. With the elimination of artificial error, traffic-related deaths such as drink driving or over-speed driving will remarkably reduce, as robocars will be well pre-programmed to assist human safety. In addition, the use of self-driving cars would effectively decrease the enormous carbon emission released by normal cars and traffic congestion, thereby benefiting both environment and people’s health. It also could better long-distance traveling by making them safer and more comfortable. To be more specific, cars that are fully capable of functioning without human intervention free up time normally spent on driving, but instead using them for relaxing, reading, or spreading time together.

Despite the above-mentioned merits, having no human presence in the driving seat raise some concerns. First and foremost, cars that drive themselves means they are without human involvement, which might lead to job loss in the transportation industry. For instance, it appears that a big amount of Vietnamese rely on driving as a source of income such as delivery, and all kinds of drivers, so an alternative method of transportation would contribute to major unemployment rates. It is also noted that driverless vehicles are vulnerable to cyberattacks, as with other technology. There are potential risks that self-driving cars will be hacked and malfunctioned, which could turn a convenient riding experience into a terrifying scenario

In conclusion, I believe while having certain drawbacks, the advent of self-driving cars would be a positive development in the field of technology and transportation. However, as with any other technology that is related to human life, automated cars should be carefully planned and well-prepared in terms of safety.