The shortage of housing in big cities can cause severe consequences, and only government action can solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, the lack of accommodations has lead to a number of profound impacts, hence, prompting a belief that only actions can the governments can mitigate the problems. Personally, I concur with the statement.

To begin with, lacking of residence have been determined to be the roots of several negativities in modern era. First, when housing in major cities becomes insufficient, it can damage the environment, potentially leaving certain adverse effects to the residents. To explain, a huge number of people living in populous areas will raise the demand for houses, thus, increasing the costs of accommodation as there is a limitation in living space of a city. Therefore, those who are money-conscious will seek alternatives, such as moving to suburbs while maintaining their current job in metropolises. This means that they may have to travel back and forth by their own vehicle, putting a rise of transportation on the streets and subsequently causing traffic jams. As a consequence, larger volume of transport can increase CO2 emissions, sabotage the atmosphere and eventually leading to air pollution. For instance, in New York, due to the fact that accommodations in this destination are considered extravagant, many have decided to resettle in the outskirts despite long-distance travel on a daily basis. This has polluted the atmosphere in this cities as New Yorkers have a tendency to commute by their own vehicles, which are often operated by fossil fuels, the main culprit of excessive CO2 emissions.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, government certainly plays an essential role in dealing with this issue. A possible approach for the government is to reinvest in the construction for underdeveloped areas, in terms of infrastructures and facilities. In order words, developing regions can attract business expansion from corporations , creating heaps of employment opportunities. Even more importantly, once residents are aware of the existence of new residential areas, they may choose to relocate for employment, therefore, reducing the pressure of housing in areas with highly - dense population. For example, in recent years, because the government has spent a considerable budget in building remote areas, there has been a great number of people from Ho Chi Minh city, an incredibly crowded city, moving to other provinces for job search and resettlement.

Taking everything into consideration, while it is undeniable that the shortage of accommodations have been attached to serious consequences, the government’s role in eradicating this issue should be highly emphasised.